Skip to main content

Milan Special School District

Mobile Menu Toggle
Search Login
Transportation » New Laws in 2018

New Laws in 2018

Dear Parents/Guardians: MSSD Student Guidelines

With a new safety law going into effect Jan.1 2018, I thought it would be a good idea to let you know what is expected of our students who drive to school. Please read the following guidelines with your child and make sure they fully understand what is expected of them in school zones.

Kevin Ellison, MSSD Transportation Supervisor

New Law:

 

The Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) wanted to make drivers aware of the rules and penalties for improperly passing a school bus.  Tennessee Law 55-8-151 addresses the overtaking and passing school busses while unloading/loading passengers and the penalties.

 

The Tennessee law states:The driver of a vehicle upon a highway, upon meeting or overtaking from either direction any school bus that has stopped on the highway for the purpose of receiving or discharging any school children, shall stop the vehicle before reaching the school bus, and the driver shall not proceed until the school bus resumes motion or is signaled by the school bus driver to proceed or the visual signals are no longer actuated. Subsection (a) shall also apply to a school bus with lights flashing and stop sign extended and marked in accordance with this subsection (a) that is stopped upon property owned, operated, or used by a school or educational institution, if the bus is stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any school children outside a protected loading zone. It is a Class C misdemeanor for any person to fail to comply with any provision of this subsection (a) other than the requirement that a motor vehicle stop upon approaching a school bus.

 

It is a Class A misdemeanor punishable only by a fine of not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) for any person to fail to comply with the provision of this subsection (a) requiring a motor vehicle to stop upon approaching a school bus.

 

It is now a Class C Misdemeanor ($50fine) if you are caught using any type of hand held electronic device while driving in a school zone. Please put your phones aside just for a few minutes while picking up and dropping of your children. Be very watchful of children in and around buses and other cars.

Be alert and allow our children to arrive to and from school safely without harm.